Turn the page, wash your hands… turn the page, wash your hands…

What’s on YOUR Pull List?

Mike Rapin

  • Archie #2
  • Invincible #122
  • Martian Manhunter #3
  • Rat Queens #11
  • Trees #12
  • Wolf #2

A decent week for me, which is cool because these are some choice books.

I’m following up with Archie because it lived up to the hype. I don’t find myself reading many happy-go-lucky books these days, but this one really scratched an itch for me last week.

Invincible is a books I’ve been reading a long, long time, and it really hasn’t let me down. There was a rough patch back around #105, but I think this book has found new life with Eve and Mark in space with their daughter.

Martian Manhunter really confounds me in the way a good mystery story should. Knowing almost nothing but surface level information about the character, I have been really sucked into this book. I feel like a new comic reader with this book–and that’s a good thing.

Paul Jaissle

  • Archie #2
  • Black Canary #3
  • Hip Hop Family Tree #1
  • Justice League #43
  • Martian Manhunter #3

A pretty diverse set of books for me this week, including 3 (yes, three!) music-related titles. Last month’s issue of the relaunched Archie series ended with the title character making a triumphant on-stage debut, so hopefully we’ll see more of him (and hopefully the rest of The Archies) playing music in this issue.

So far, Black Canary has largely eschewed superheroics to focus on the band of the same name. Ilike the way the creators have injected a punk/indie rock aesthetic into the comic, which makes it really stand out as something different from the rest of DC’s lineup.

This week also sees the debut of Hip Hop Family Tree, the new monthly version of Ed Piskor’s acclaimed graphic novel series. I recently read –and absolutely loved– the first volume of this, so I’m curious to see what new material Piskor is including in this version.

Jonathan Francois

  • Invincible #122
  • Rat Queens #11
  • Trees #12

RAT QUEENS IS BACK. I had all but given up hope that I would see another issue of the series again. After the drama of the artist switcharoo, it got really iffy on consistency with the release dates. And who knows, after this issue, we may never see it again, but this issue is the one where they wrap up all the loose ends at the end of the story arc. I suppose if they were just going to give the series a dignified end instead of trying to painfully drag it out for another arc, this would be the best place for it. Only time will tell.

Things are getting real in Trees. We’re diving into some hush hush government business now. I’ve long since tried to stop predicting what might happen with this series and just let the story take me where it will.

I expect that Invincible will be just as good as the previous so many issues of this arc have been. We’ve just learned something super important/dangerous, so I’m excited to see what comes of this knowledge in the following issues.

Nick White

  • Birthright #10
  • Book of Death #2
  • The Disciples #3
  • Dr. Fate #3
  • Ivar, Timewalker #8
  • Manifest Destiny #16
  • Simpsons Comics #223

Gotta be frank, Birthright is starting to slowly inch towards my “drops” shortlist.  It’s hard to pinpoint why, but it just feels like the momentum it possessed at the beginning isn’t there.

Book of Death?  Last month’s premiere issue was so good.  You know how sometimes writers like to have their protagonists fight, but you fully well know (coughBATMANVSUPERMANcough) that nobody’s really gonna get hurt in the end?  Well, I’m not so sure that this second issue won’t begin with Eternal Warrior actually killing Ninjak.  Which, you know, would be inconvenient, with Ninjak having just started a solo book several months back.  But Valiant isn’t much for stunts and shenanigans, and I seem to recall one of their head honchos saying somebody was gonna bite it.  Wait and see, wait and see, right guys?

If you wanna talk about one of the best books that truly nobody is reading, that’d have to be Black Mask’s The Disciples.  Set in the future, a trio of bounty hunters are sent to retrieve a senator’s daughter, who’s found herself caught up in a cult on Ganymede, a moon of Jupiter.  Except, you know, things end up more in the vein of Event Horizon or Sunshine.  Sci-fi horror is aces, and Steve Niles sure knows how to scare people.

Dr. Fate sure doesn’t feel like a “big two” book…and yet it is.  That’s a good thing.  And it’ll stay as this goofy, colorful narrative as long as DC doesn’t rope it into anything else.  I do worry about the tone of the book if Sonny Liew leaves it.

Fred Van Lente and Francis Portela are killin’ it on Ivar, Timewalker.

Manifest Destiny, much like Birthright, is slowly making moves towards my “potential drop” pile.  I think it’d make a better read in trade form.

Oh, and there’s an issue of Simpsons Comics coming out this week.  Gotta have some “funny” to break up all the seriousness.

Attention! You have to wash your hands or the comic book ink will get all over them…

What’s on YOUR Pull List?

About The Author

Mike is currently the Editor-in-Chief at DestroyTheCyborg! as well as a full time web developer for Comixology in New York. He's a die-hard X-Men fan whose love of Gambit will stand the test of time.

Comments are closed.