When I heard that All Time Low was coming out with a new album, I’ll be honest, I was quite happy. After falling in love with their album Nothing Personal (2009) just last year I was excited to see how their follow up album would do. Thus brings us to Dirty Work the new album by the pop punk band which is to be released on June 7, 2011. So, let’s dive right into it, shall we?

I was afraid that Dirty Work was going to be more of the same style that we had seen with Nothing Personal after listening to the single “I Feel Like Dancing”, but I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was not after listening to the other tracks on the album. The band was able to keep the feel of their pop punk style while experimenting and broadening their sound at the same time. This makes it so that each song has a different sound and feel so that you don’t feel like your listening to the same song over and over again.

The album has a good start with the song “Do You Want Me (Dead)” which is a nice “get up and move” song and helps you step into the mood of “I Feel Like Dancing,” which is obviously the album’s party song. While it may seem cliche and a little over done, the song is incredibly catchy, and by the end of it you catch yourself either bobbing your head to it or singing along. The album keeps up its unique and fun momentum with the songs “Forget About It” and “Guts” which are just as catchy  and energetic as the three previous tracks.

However the momentum of the album slows with “Time Bomb” which is a strange, slightly depressing, emotional song. It’s upbeat and catchy but at the same time the sour tone makes you unsure of how you should feel. This feeling leads into “Just the Way I’m Not” and “Under A Paper Moon” which give the same feeling. Then we hit the low point of the album. Every album has them and this one is no exception. “Return the Favor” and “No Idea” are my least favorite songs on the album (although there is one more, which we will get to later). It’s not that they are typically bad songs but the fact that they feel like very generic sad pop punk songs. Lots of echoes and more of an electronic pop feel than guitar feel.

“A Daydream Away” on the other hand is a genuine slow song that feels like real emotion was poured into it. It’s calming chords give a nice background sound and the soft vocals allow the words to sink into you. In fact, I’m sure this is the perfect song for a teen romance show or movie. It’s interesting lyrics add a level of honesty to the band that seems to take them away from pop punk band cliches.

And then “That Girl” takes away that feeling with a poppy song about the girl who’s a bitch but you can’t seem to get rid of, ‘cuz you kind of like bitches. Yeah, we’ve all had them. While the lyrics are witty and intriguing, the melody is lacking in creativity and is just overall disappointing. All Time Low makes up for it with the final song of the album: “Heroes.” It’s fast paced and catchy as hell. It’s really badass and is personally my favorite track on the album. With unique lyrics, heavy drums, and feel good guitars its the perfect ride home song.

Overall, I was very happy with Dirty Work. I was worried that it was going to either be more of the same or try too hard to be different, but All Time Low found a happy medium of being different while still being themselves–which I’m sure a lot of fans will not only appreciate but still enjoy. If you are a fan of All Time Low, then this album is a must have. If you’re looking for some feel good music then you should at least have a little listen to Dirty Work.

Rating: 7.5/10

Release Date: June 7, 2011

Track Listings

1. Do You Want Me (Dead?)
2. I Feel Like Dancin’
3. Forget About It
4. Guts (feat. Maja Ivarsson of The Sounds)
5. Time-bomb
6. Just the Way I’m Not
7. Under a Paper Moon
8. Return the Favor
9. No Idea
10. A Daydream Away
11. That Girl
12. Heroes

About The Author

René Rodriguez is a writer and reviewer for this lovely site. He tries to do reviews as frequently as possible but if there's something that piques his interest and he also thinks you should read it...well he'll probably review it. Mostly music and Spider-Man though.

One Response to All Time Low “Dirty Work”